^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Ashprington belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge

The original spelling has been preserved

Roger Adam John Gill William Midwinter
Thomas Adam Nicholas Gren John Morgan
Alexander Ashebridge Samuel Gren William Morgan
John Baddever Humphrey Groysey Anthony Morgin
Richard Badford Edward Gyrd Peter Morgin
Thomas Banker Thomas Gyrd Thomas Morye
William Bartlett Nicholas Hach Robert Murgan
Dunstan Basse Chrisopher Hammon, Clerk Brian Parrett
Robert Basse Samuel Handcoocke Francis Peever
Thomas Basse Richard Heard John Peice
Humphrey Bastey Andrew Helley Nicholas Pering
Hugh Batting Edward Hellye John Perrott
John Bedcocks Richard Hellye Brian Perrett
Stephen Berrie Andrew Hert Edward Perrett
John Bonker Andrew Hert Edward Perrett
James Bonker Thomas Hext Jasper Perrett
Richard Bonker Nicholas Hillery John Perrett
Stephen Call Edward Holms Robert Perrett
Richard Cloak John Hyllie Samuel Perrett
John Cole Barnard Hylly Samuel Perrett
John Coll John Lavers Francis Robbins
William Collton Arthur Lee Edward Robins
John Colle Ciprian Lee Richard Robins
Andrew Coom Edward Lee Henry Russell
Roger Counter Edward Lee Philip Russell
Edward Davy Edward Lee William Russell
Philip Deever Edward Lee Henry Sander
John Dever Henry Lee Thomas Settye
John Donse Henry Lee Richard Sharackay
John Downeinge James Lee Henry Shilliber
Stephen Downyng John Lee James Short
Henry Dowse John Lee Richard Short
William Dowse John Lee Thomas Short
Walter During John Lee Edward Shortt
John Edmond Laurence Lee Edward Shortt
Stephen Edmond Richard Lee Henry Shortt
John Evelling Roger Lee William Shortt
Gregory Ferres Roger Lee Thomas Steven
Daniel Ferrie Samuel Lee Henry Tab
Roger Ford Thomas Lee Thomas Terry
Richard Ford Henry Kew William Veale
Thomas Ford Charles Luscombe Titus Weamoth
William Forse Alan Lyde William Weannath
John Fosse William Mannin Richard Werring
Richard Fosse William Marke John Willyams
Syrian Fosse Henry Marten John Wolcote
John Gaone Edward Marton -
John Gasonne John Marton -


* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page