^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

which are grouped in Hundreds*

Bampton belonged to the Hundred of Bampton

(The original spelling has been retained - note "Qualter" for "Walter")

Edward Addicott Richard Frost John Putham
Michael Addicott John Galloser Edward Quick
George Adevene John Gammon John Quick
George Adicote William Gammon Robert Quick
John Adcote Anthony Gammone Stephen Quick
William Adicote William Garnse Thomas Quick
Henry Adlington John Gaznesen Edward Quicke
John Alderman Amos Gengell Humphrey Quicke
William Alderman John Gervey Robert Quicke
William Ash Roger Gill ? Read
Henry Axnell John Glasse William Rice
Ambrose Badcock Thomas Goading John Richards
Robert Badcock Lewis Goddin William Richards
Robert Badcock George Godsland Rice Robens
Peter Badcocke Philip Godslane William Roch
Anthony Ball John Gofford Philip Rod
Anthony Ball Andrew Gooding Edward Rowe
Henry Ball Christopher Goodman Ralph Rowe
William Ball George Goodman John Ruck
Plopeder Banden Thomas Goodman Thomas Rucksonn
William Barbers Nicholas Goodwey John Rumbelow
Bartemus Berry John Goore Nicholas Rumbelow
John Berry Charles Gyffard John Rumbelowe
Chrsitopher Blackemore William Hagley Walter Rusnett
John Blackmore Mathew Haris Mark Sanders
John Blackmore John Harres  Thomas Sarle
Tristram Blackmore Richard Hawkins William Scrobb
Edward Blue Thomas Heege Edward Semkemes
Nicholas Bondon Lewis Heemon Thomas Semons
John Borld David Hering Thomas Shakland
John Bowbear William Hertswill Simon Sharland
William Bowbrane John Hill Stephen Shepheard
Anthony Bowburne Richard Hill James Shepherd
John Bowden Robert Hill Nicholas Shorland
Andrew Bowdon Thomas Hill Robert Shorlornd
Richard Bowdon Tristram Hill John Short
William Bowdon William Hill Edward Slowe
James Bristowe John Hocpote John Smaleombe
Anthony Brock Thomas Hodge Henry Smalecorne
Alexander Brooke Nathaniel Holcombe Morgan Snill
John Brooke William Holcombe Abraham Snow
Thomas Brownford Peter Hollew John Snow
Abraham Bryant Andrew Howard Ambrose Snowe
Francis Bryant Thomas Hurly William Snowe
Jacob Bryant John Hynd George Sommers
John Bryant Edward Isack Christopher Southwood
William Bryant George Jennen ? Sparken
Robert Bryndridge Richard Joenes Humphrey Sperway
James Bulford Luke Johns John Spinan
John Buston Robert Jugram Henry Stibes
Humphrey Butler Thomas Jugram John Still
George Cageane William Jugram Humphrey Stoate
Omphey Call George Kopoll James Stone
George Capwell John Land Fydy Stronge
Peter Carew Edward Lang Henry Surrudg
Peter Carew jun John Lange Hugh Taillore
Robert Catford Thomas Langwill James Taylor
Nicholas Chambealin John Latford John Taylor
Robert Chamberllin George Legwill Jon Thomas
John Chamberlyne Arnold Lewes Richard Thomas
Stephen Chapman Ewen Lews Thomas Thomas
Christopher Clarke Peter Leysey William Thomas
John Clarke Dennis Licery John Toll
Humphrey Classe Peter Liny Thomas Tottyle
John Cleeve William Lob James Towills
Michael Cleeve William Longe John Towling
Thomas Clemente John Longwell William Trasfron
William Clene John Lowd James Tristram
Gabriel Clirve Joseph Lowden Robert Tristram
John Colle John Ludloe Robert Tristram
Robert Collins Edwrad Lyill Thomas Tristram
Jenkin Collyur William Lyith Thomas Tristram
Michael Colman Robert Maninge Nicholas Trow
James Conbery John Mallan John Tucker
Francis Condane Tobias Manning Vincent Tynndell
William Cooke George Marman John Ulcomb
Thomas Cookman William Matman William Upwill
Francis Cooknurd Robert Meave Humphrey Upham
William Cooll Christopher Melton William Uppome
Edward Cornele Nathaniel Melton Isaac Urgand
Henry Court Robert Melton John Vans
John Court Robert Meltone John Vesey
John Court John Mildon John Vins
John Cowling jun. John Milldon Alexander Walker
Christopher Crocker Edward Millton Robert Ware
John Crocker Robert Millton John Warren
Thomas Crosse John Milton Anthony Webber
Thomas Culeme William Miperye Nicholas Webber
Nicholas Curtis Richard Morgan Thomas Weetherman
Henry Davye Francis Nawbinger Robert Weird
Henry Daxye George Newnham William Westfeld
Henry Deple Robert Newman John Welson
Andrew Dew Thomas Nicholas Jenkin William
John Dice Moses Nichole Morgan William
John Doile William Nudoy John Williames
Thomas Dulsford William Parker Richard Williames
John Dyer William Patch John Williams
Thomas Edline Richard Perseye John Willson
William Ellis John Petteward George Wilson
John Emgrow Henry Pike Richard Wilson
Thomas Farmane Rowland Pike Richard Wiltone
Hugh Fish John Pitforde Robert Wndyeatt
Henry Fisske James Pitt John Wishman
Edward Fordan Thomas Plarse -
? Frost Henry Proute -

Signed by 

James Style - Curate

Richard Sainthill - Clerk

George Varmen - Constable

Richard Milton - Constable

Michael Rowe - Constable

Lewis Egbry

George Southcott - Churchwarden

Edward Mills - Churchwarden

Matthew Coleman - Overseer

William Sherman - Overseer

Roger Tanham - Overseer

Robert Kingram - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.

Taen from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page