^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.


On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".


They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.


We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.


The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish. and grouped in Hundreds*

The parish of Blackawton belonged to the Hundred of Coleridge

The original spelling has been preserved

John Aple John Hingston William Rider
Henry Austin Nicholas Hingston Thomas Ryder
John Austin William Hodge William Ryder
John Austine Robert Holland Thomas Rydor
Richard Baite Richard Holmes Edward Rydor
Edward Ball Richard Hopkins William Rydor
Walter Bargren Robert Hopkins George Rypley
Pancras Berry Richard Horrswill William Rypley
Ellis Bidlake John Horswill Richard Sattocke
Thomas Bidlake George Horswill John Saunders
Robert Bovey William Houldich William Shacke
George Bowcker William Huchins Nicholas Sharpham
William Bowcker William Huchins John Sheere
John Bracy John Hunt Henry Shere
Nicholas Bunker John Hunt John Simons
Richard Burgine Lewis Hunt Richard Skinner
John Burgis Thomas Hunt John Skynner
John Cambe John Hurpham. Thomas Skynner
Richard Cholswhich Jonas Isacwe Leonard Smith
Edmund Churchward Thomas Jackson Robin Sney
John Churchward Thomas Kilbury John Soldich
Thomas Churchward Thomas Kilburye Henry Sollsfee
Pasco Clark John Knight Moses Sowerwod
Thomas Clarke Thomas Knight John Sparke
Walter Clarke Richard Knoman Nicholas Sparke
William Colder Israel Lacewest Robert Sparke
Thomas Collin Thomas Lambert Thomas Sparkes
William Collin Richard Lane Peter Sparkes
Nicholas Colline Thomas Lane Thomas Sparkes
Nicholas Colton Thomas Lane Robert Steele
Edward Combe Nicholas Langworthy John Stephens
Michael Combe John Lavers Alexander Stere
William Combe William Leach Nicholas Stevens
Robert Connott John Leaman William Strong
John Coombe William Leonard Lavers Tanbline
John Coombe Edward Leycombe William Thorne
John Coome Pancras Luces William Thorne
Thomas Costerd Edward Luscombe William Thorne
Nicholas Cottine William Luscombe Christopher Tooker
Richard Courtis Stephen Macy John Tooker
Ralph Crawbert Thomas Macy Nicholas Tooker
Peter Creede John Maddicke John Tookerman
James Cridlend Alexander Maddoc Richard Tookerman
William Crowberd John Maninge Robert Tookerman
Stephen Curvis Richard Maninge Samuel Tookerman
William Downey Michael Martayne William Tookerman
Nicholas Downinge Simon Mascombe John Torringe
Thomas Downinge Nicholas Maslye John Tow
Thomas Downinge Robert Merney Arthur Tucker
Nicholas Drape Thomas Mitchelmore Henry Tucker
John Dustine Richard Mitcombe John Tucker
Richard Dustine Edward Morrish John Tucker
Robert Dustine Alexander Narracot John Tucker
Thomas Dustine William Partridge Lewis Tucker
Richard Dyer Richard Patten Richard Tucker
Anthony Elliott Richard Pearce Robert Tucker
John Far Robert Pearce Roger Tucker
Richard Far William Pearce Stephen Tucker
John Farr Bennet Peeke Stephen Tucker
John Fay Daniel Peeke William Tucker
Ralph Ferd Daniel Peeke Robert Tuckerman
John Finings Nicholas Peeke William Tuckerman
John Ford Richard Peeke William Tuckerman
Nicholas Ford Thomas Peeke George Udey
Robert Ford John Peirse George Waltheney
William Ford John Pering Robert Weats
John Forde William Perrine George Westlake
Nicholas Freende William Perrine William White
Robert Friend Richard Perringe William Wittt
Thomas Friende, jun. Richard Phillips Edward Widdecome
Richard Furse John Phillips George Widdecome
Edward Gardener William Phillips Thomas Widdecome
George Gilhowse William Phillips Thomas Widy
John Gillerd Crispin Phillpes Richard Willes
Joshua Gillerd Robert Pinhey Laurence Wills
Robert Gillerd William Pinhey Nicholas Wills
Peter Grannt Richard Pitting Robert Wills
Lewis Gross Peter Pittinge Robert Wills
John Gunne Richard Pitts Vincent Wills
John Gunne Nicholas Ponlinge William Windat
Thomas Hach William Pope Bennett Windett
Walter Hamline John Pottell Christopher Wood
John Hand Robert Pound Crispin Wootton
Nicholas Hawkins Robert Pound Peter Wotton
Richard Heath George Prants Richard Wotton
William Heath John Prouse Richard Wotton
Philip Hext Nicholas Prouse Richard Wotton
Richard Hinde Roger Prouse Solomn Wotton
Andrew Hine Roger Prouse William Wotton
Richard Hine Thomas Prouse John Yealsley
Samuel Hine William Prouse Edward Youland
Andrew Hingston John Rich Thomas Youland
John Hingston Edward Rider --

Thomas Friend - Vicar

William Trickey - Constable

Nicholas Tucker - Cpnstable

Richard Perrine - Churchwarden

Thomas Tothill - Overseer

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


Taken from the transcription by A. J. Howard published in 1973 which is available in the West Country Studies Library, Exeter.                                                                                                              Courtesy: Devon County Council



^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page