^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials



Use the scroll bar to view the complete page


In 1881 the British Army was reorganised into territorial regiments with regular, militia and volunteer battalions. Prior to this, the Devonshire Regiment (known historically as the 11th Foot) consisted of 5 Volunteer Battalions. The 1st Rifle Volunteers were founded in 1851, an event which is commemorated by a statue in Northernhay Gardens, Exeter.

The name "Rifle Volunteers" is still in use and since 1999 has been the title of the Infantry Territorial Battalion of the South West. The Battalion is formed from three of the finest Infantry regiments: The Light Infantry, The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment and the Royal Gloucestershire, Berkshire and Wiltshire Regiment. Elements of the Battalion are deployed on Operations in Iraq and have also been deployed to Afghanistan.

Although there are a few older men listed among the Privates below, the majority were men in their late twenties and early thirties who would have formed a useful body of men.

Captain Leopold Montague was the son of Arthur and Julianna Montague who lived at Penton House in Crediton. Lieutenant William Harris Heygate was a local GP in Crediton.


Officer commanding the 1st Volunteer Brigade, the Devonshire Regiment

Lieutenant Colonel William Hood Walrond  M.P (late Grenadier Guards)


Captain Alexander Dunn Sim (Argyle & Sutherland Highlanders, 93rd Foot)

Permanent Staff

Sergt.Major Furneaux (late Rifle Brigade)

Sergt. Instructor Holloway (late Rifle Brigade)

Sergt. Hudson (late Devon Regiment)

Sergt. Instructor Waite (late Devon Regiment)



Captain Leopold Agar Montague

Lieutenant William Harris Heygate

Ernest F. Parry Jones
Daniel Lake
George Warren
James Williams
T. Balsdon
T. Grant
T. Lockwood
Frank Chamberlain


Sydney E Adams Albert Flood William H. Murch
J. Bennellick Samuel Flood S. J. Nott
Charles Bennett Walter Flood James Packer
George Bennett T. Francis William Palmer
George Bicknell T. Gillard George Perkins
James Billing C. Grant (George Grant?) James Perkins
William Body John Harris George Pleace
Charles T. Burridge Fred Harvey John Pleace
James T. Burridge William Harvey (1) William Henry Please
William Callow William Harvey (2) Thomas Rooks
Frederick Chamberlain Albert Hatton J. Scammell
J. Chanter H. Hatton Frank Searle
S. T. Clarke Arthur Hector A. Seldon
Henry Cork Frank Hector J. Setter
William Connell (Cornwall?) Albert Hutchings William H. Snow
H. Crispin William Hutchings James Stone
Edmund Davie William R. Labbett William Henry Stone
Alfred Doddridge Lewis Lake William Symons
William Down William Lake Ernest Tothill
William Drew Francis Edward Lee James Tucker
John Dyer George Lee Samuel Vanstone
William Dyer F. A. Lockwood Henry Weeks
Edwin Elston Hermon Madge Thomas White
Harry Elstone William Madge F. Yewe
Henry Elstone George Morrish


In addition to these men there was a body of buglers. Crediton had a very active Town Band for many years and the buglers may not have been Territorial personnel.


Crediton Town Band 1861

Crediton Town Band 1861

Courtesy of the Harrogate website


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page