^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page




Devon County

Devonshire Rgt.

Directory Listings





Parish Records




War Memorials


By the end of 1640, King Charles I had become very unpopular.  Parliament forced him to make changes in the Constitution which gave them a bigger say in how the country was governed. From then on, Parliament was split into two factions - Royalists (Cavaliers) who supported the King and Parliamentarians (Roundheads) who wanted political and religious reform.

On 3 May 1641, every Member of the House of Commons was ordered to make a declaration of loyalty to the crown. This was ratified next day by the House of Lords. They called it their Protestation against " an arbitrarie and tyrannical government" and another order was made that every Rector, Churchwarden and Overseer of the Poor had to appear in person before the JPs in their Hundred to make this Protestation Oath in person. It was to  be a declaration of their belief in the" Protestant religion, allegiance to the King and support for the rights and privileges of Parliament".

They then had to go back home to their own parish where any two of them were to require the same oath of allegiance from all males over the age of 18. The names of all who refused to make the oath were to be noted and assumed to be Catholics.

We have, in the Devon Protestation Returns, a set of amazing documents - something akin to a census even though no women or children are named.  A transcription is available in the West Country Studies Library in Exeter.

The Protestation Returns are arranged by parish.

Trusham belonged to the Hundred of  Exminster

The original spelling has been preserved

John Angove George Holman Edward Robbidge
Charles Bremelcome James Jernett John Robbridge
Ellis Burgen Christopher Marche Ambrose Salter
Thomas Clogge Andrew Murche Gregory Salter
William Clogge Bartholomew Clabroome John Shorte
Henry Credforde Roger Clabroome Thomas Shorte
William Credforde William Clabroome james Sugar
Thomas Dudeney John Parr Richard Tucker
John Estcott Richard Reynolls Mattew Tuckett

*Harian Norman - Parson

John Stooke - Constable

Ellis Clabroome - Churchwarden

Thomas Lightfoot - Overseer

Josias Brecker - Overseer

(All the above names in the same hand except one shown thus * which is a signature.)

* For many centuries, Devon was divided into 32 administrative districts or Hundreds for land tax purpose.


^ Home
< Back
? Search
Print this page